Specialty Details

Ophthalmology surgeries And the eyes

Ophthalmology is one of the most important branches of medicine. It is concerned with the diagnosis and treatment of diseases of the eye and the surrounding areas (such as eyelids, lacrimal glands, etc.), in addition to eye diseases related to other systemic diseases and how to control them.

Number of years of specialization in ophthalmology
After completing the study of general medicine, the doctor spends nearly four years studying ophthalmology, during which the doctor becomes able to diagnose various pathological conditions and perform various examinations, including:

  Examination of the power of vision used to prescribe appropriate eyeglasses Phoropter.
Ophthalmoscopy, used to ensure the integrity of the retina and optic nerve.
Measuring eye pressure to detect some diseases that cause high internal pressure in the eye, such as glaucoma and others, by means of a pressure tonometry device.
Measuring visual acuity or field of vision by means of a Snellen board consisting of letters of different sizes and directions, graded from top to bottom.
Subspecialties in ophthalmology
Many doctors, after completing their specialization in eye diseases, tend to study additional years to focus on a specific part or disease of the eye and gain more scientific and academic experience in it. Among these sub-specialties are:

Anterior Segment Surgery, which focuses on the cornea, iris, ciliary body, and lens.
Cataracts and Refractive Surgery.
Cornea and External Disease specialization.
Glaucoma treatment.
Vitreo-Retinal Surgery.
Ocular Oncology.
Strabismus and eye diseases in children. Pediatrics & Strabismus.